The League of Women Voters of Southeast Missouri is a non-partisan political organization dedicated to active citizen participation in democracy. One of the most trusted and respected organizations in our community, the League is a force for change, shaping the important issues that keep our communities strong.

We are a grassroots organization working to make democracy work. We work to influence policy through education and advocacy.  As the League of Women Voters approach our 100th anniversary, we have adopted the slogan: 

Creating a more perfect democracy.                                    
Join us in making this happen! 



In 2020, we are celebrating the ratification of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution and the founding of the League of Women Voters.

Passed by Congress June 4, 1919, and ratified on August 18, 1920, the 19th amendment granted women the right to vote. The 19th amendment states: "The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex."

February 14th, 2020, marked 100 years that the League of Women Voters has empowered voters and defended democracy. Over the last century, we have fought for election protection, democratic reforms, and equal access to the ballot—all while maintaining our commitment to nonpartisanship and fostering an informed electorate. As we look into our next hundred years, we aim to build power for the next generation of women leaders and voting rights activists.


Thank you to our County Clerk, Kara Clark Summers, and her staff for their professional service to provide safe, legal, and accurate elections.


Voter ID

In Spring 2020, the Cape Girardeau County Clerk mailed new voter ID cards. If you have not received yours, please contact the clerk's office at 573-243-3547 or kclark@capecounty.us.

However, you must have the state required ID in order to vote. For more information, please see "Show It 2 Vote" at:




Join Us on Facebook for other updates.



Voter Information 

How do I register to vote in MO?   

You can register to vote online at the MO secretary of State website : https://www.sos.mo.gov/elections/goVoteMissouri/register  . 

You can register in person at any of the sites in the link below:  http://www.capecountyelections.com/voting-information/voter-registration/       

For help in registering call the County Clerk's Office at 573-243-3547.

For more information, sample ballots, and calendars, please go to:

Cape Girardeau County Clerk



Missouri Secretary of State



Contact Information - ellensuebrockett@gmail.com

   powered by element 74